May Recap

I had mixed feelings about a few of my May books, but there were some great ones too!

img_2185

1.Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I did not love Gone Girl. I understand the appeal–it is gripping and edgy. But for me, it was a bit too much of those things. As I’ve mentioned before, the books I read have a serious impact on me, so the vulgarity, profanity, and intensity made it hard for me to enjoy this one. I think there are a lot of other suspenseful thrillers that stay interesting without being quite so graphic.

2. Surprised by Oxford by Carolyn Weber

I posted a full review of this one here. I really enjoyed Surprised by Oxford. It is thoughtful, rich, and packed with literary references. Although it was a little longer than I would have liked, it was definitely worth reading.

3. The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

Loved it. This has been my new go-to suggestion when someone asks me what book they should read next. It is suspenseful and interesting, but I read it before bed and did not have nightmares. (Full review coming soon!)

4. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

I read Me Before You for my book club, which I think was a great way to tackle this one. There’s been a lot of talk around the internet about this story (since the movie just came out), and I am thankful that I read it in the context of a book club because it led to some really great discussion. Even though I didn’t agree with (what I think was) the message of the book, I thought it brought up some interesting, thought-provoking points about people with disabilities. If you are thinking of reading it or seeing the movie, you should consider reading a synopsis first. If you don’t, you might be blindsided by the ending–and not in a good way.

5. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Lindsey and I have both already talked about how much we enjoyed Eleanor & Park. It was a perfect YA novel: dramatic, over-the-top, and adorable. Read the full post here.

6. House of Mirth by Edith Wharton

This was my classic for the month, and I really enjoyed it. The story was interesting, but the writing was what really made it great. (I will be sharing some of my favorite quotes in a separate post.) This book is totally worth reading, but warning: it does not have a happy ending.

7. Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan

I listened to this on audio, read by Jim Gaffigan. I don’t even have kids, but it was hilarious. He is cleaner than most comedians, and I laughed out loud almost every time I turned this on. Definitely recommend, on audio if possible.

(Note from Lindsey: I read this on Kindle a while ago, and then listened to just a little bit of it with Leslie in the car. I agree with her recommendation of the audio version! It was much funnier when I heard it in Gaffigan’s own voice.)

Favorite for the month: TIE between Eleanor & Park and The Light Between Oceans.

 

What did YOU read last month??

One thought on “May Recap

  1. Carol Harris says:

    Just got the library notice that Jim Gaffigan is available! Yay 🙂

    I bought Surprised by Oxford on your recommendation for my summer read. The only thing I don’t like about your awesome blog is my frustration…I can’t keep up with all the recommendations!!!!

    On Wed, Jun 8, 2016 at 12:13 PM, Windows & Mirrors wrote:

    > Leslie posted: “I had mixed feelings about a few of my May books, but > there were some great ones too! 1.Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn I did not love > Gone Girl. I understand the appeal–it is gripping and edgy. But for me, it > was a bit too much of those things. As I’ve m” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

